Lodges, Chapters and Other Masonic Orders

Bay of Plenty District Lodges

There are currently sixteen 'Blue' or 'Craft' Lodges in the Bay of Plenty District of Freemasons New Zealand including a Research Lodge that meets under Peripatetic Charter at various Lodge Halls in the old Waikato District (encompassing the current Waikato, Bay of Plenty and Hauraki Districts).

Details of meeting times and places for each, as well as other information, can be found by selecting the relevant Lodge from the menu on the right. Bay of Plenty District encompasses an area from Waihi down to Whakatane on NZ's East Coast, and inland down to Taupo, broadly following the geographical outline of the Bay of Plenty Region and includes the cities of Rotorua, Tauranga, Taupo and Whakatane as well as the towns of Kawerau and Waihi.

The current Bay of Plenty District was formed on 01 March 2013, following the consolidation of the previous Geyserland No. 11 and Bay of Plenty No. 12 Districts into a 'new' Bay of Plenty District. As part of this process, Lodge Tokoroa-Orakau No. 344 moved to the Waikato District (from Geyserland) and Lodge Waihi No. 112 joined the Bay of Plenty District (from Hauraki).

Historically, Geyserland District was part of the old Waikato District, which is now (March 2013) composed of the Bay of Plenty, Waikato and Hauraki Districts, all part of the Northern Division of Freemasons New Zealand, with - at the time of the division -  Hauraki District  gaining a few lodges from neighbouring catchments while Gisborne and one of the (then) two Lodges in Taupo moved to other (closer) Districts.

Lodge RotoruaGeyserland Daylight Lodge
Waikato Lodge of Research

Arawa Canoe

Meeting Dates and Times for Bay of Plenty Freemasons can be found on our Calendar


Royal Arch Logo

The Royal Arch - since 1892


Completing The Six Degrees of Freemasonry

Freemasons New Zealand has further information on The Royal Arch
and states:

Rule 71 of the Book of Constitution of the Grand Lodge of Antient, Free and Accepted Masons of New Zealand states as follows:

“Grand Lodge recognises the degrees of Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, Master Mason, Mark Master, Excellent Master and the Royal Arch as being pure Antient Freemasonry.”

The first three degrees are provided in a Craft Lodge; the second three in a Royal Arch Chapter. These degrees extend the legends and moral lessons introduced in the three Lodge Ceremonies, and many Freemasons consider it worthwhile continuing their Masonic education by participating in all of the recognised degrees of pure Antient Freemasonry.

New Zealand Royal Arch Chapters are organised through the Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter, and membership of Chapters is restricted to members of Lodges who have completed the Master Mason Degree. A Royal Arch Chapter may also work the ceremonies of Royal Ark Mariner, and the Red Cross of Babylon.

There are a small number of Chapters who belong to the Grand Chapter organisations of England and Scotland; These Chapters did not join the Supreme Grand Chapter of New Zealand when it was established in 1892.

Further information about Royal Arch Freemasonry can be obtained here: www.royalarch.org.nz

The Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of New Zealand (SGRACNZ)
has extensive further information about Royal Arch Masonry.

The First Grand Principal is the head of Royal Arch Masonry in New Zealand.

The SGRACNZ controls the Degrees of Mark Master Mason, Excellent Master, the Royal Arch, the four Degrees of the Cryptic Council, the Royal Ark Mariner Degree, and the Red Cross of Babylon Degrees.

Hauraki District Image, from SGRACNZ Web Site

Each Royal Arch Chapter is part of a District. The Hauraki District of The SGRACNZ incorporates all the Royal Arch Chapters in the (Masonic) Bay of Plenty District geographical area.

There are also two Cryptic Councils in the Hauraki District. One is in Rotorua, the other in Hamilton.


Meeting Dates and Times for Royal Arch Chapters and Cryptic Councils in the wider Hauraki District can be found on our Calendar


Your qualification as a Master Mason enables you to join a Royal Arch Chapter,
thus Completing the Six Degress of Freemasonry.

The Mark Master Mason and Excellent Master Degrees are conducted in Lodges working under the Charter of a Royal Arch Chapter and members are called Brethren. The Royal Arch Degree is conducted in a Chapter of Royal Arch Masons and members are called Companions.

The business of a Royal Arch Chapter is conducted in the Royal Arch Degree and, therefore, a Candidate cannot attend until he has been “exalted” to the Royal Arch Degree.

Mark Master Image on SGRACNZ website

Excellent Master Image on SGRACNZ website

Royal Arch Image

The Degree of Mark Master Mason, conducted in a Lodge of Mark Master Masons The Degree of Excellent Master, conducted in a Lodge of Excellent Masters The Degree of the Holy Royal Arch, conducted in a Chapter of Royal Arch Masons

Membership of further Degrees and Orders in the Masonic System is available to Royal Arch Masons who wish to continue their advancement in Masonic Knowledge.
These are additional to the Six Degrees of Freemasonry.

The Royal Ark Mariner Degree is conducted in a Lodge of Royal Ark Mariners.

The Red Cross of Babylon Degrees are conducted in Councils of Knight of the East and Knights of the East and West.

The Cryptic Degrees are conducted in Councils of Select Master, Royal Master, Most Excellent Master and Super Excellent Master.

Royal Arch Convocation - Rotorua, 2013

ME Comp Les Borrell was installed as First Grand Principal of the Supreme Grand Royal Arch Chapter of New Zealand at the annual Convocation held in Rotorua during March. Read his address to the Convocation here.

Bay of Plenty District recognises and congratulates Les Borrell for his achievements. Les is otherwise known within Freemasons New Zealand as VW Bro Les Borrell, Past Grand Lecturer and is a member of the Bay of Plenty District's Gate Pa Lodge No 407.


Other Masonic Orders

Other Masonic Orders and Organisations are available within the
Bay of Plenty District.

Freemasons New Zealand has further information on these
and states:

During and following the development of Craft Freemasonry, there have been formed many additional Masonic Orders and Organisations. While these other Orders are separate from Craft Freemasonry they almost all require membership of the Craft as a basic qualification for admission, and some have additional membership requirements. Certain of these Orders are related to Craft Freemasonry, and extend the legends and moral lessons introduced in its ceremonies.

There are also links to details of some of these organisations, when the information displayed has been approved by the order concerned.

Order of the Secret Monitor Rose Croix Knights Templar and Order of Malta Order of the Eastern Star

Contact Information for those Orders may be published as they come to hand. For the visitor to the area however, this information is normally displayed at the entrance to the Craft Lodge, as premises are normally shared.

Meeting Dates and Times for Other Masonic Orders in the wider Hauraki District can be found on our Calendar